Walking and shopping….

22 08 2007

Day4-21/8

I went for a walk to the beach and another shopping area near there with my roommate and 2 Sri Lankans – Brandon and Ronnie; and France from Mauritius.  We then walkes to the Salvation Army (2nd hand shop)and guess what? I bought a few things that I least expected – one baseball helmet, American football helmet, a basketball and believe it or not; I also bought a big Samsonite luggage.  Guess how much I paid? All these for USD22.50.  You should see the luggage bag.





Haggai before classes started….

22 08 2007

Day3-20/8

Breakfast was supposed to start at 7am but we were told to come a little earlier for a short time of prayer. Today we are supposed to dress in our business or national costume for our individual photos to be taken. Then we are to hand in all outstanding materials to the RC and we have the rest of the day free  until 4.30pm when we will have games and picnic with the volunteers and participants.

I went to the nearby shopping area at Safeway with my roommate and Mani. We just looked around and checked out the prices.  The only things I bought were 2 packets of sunflower seeds snack. I spent the afternoon surfing online and watched a lecture by Kevin James before the games.

It was a leadership/team building game for all of us.  I had a good time – learning to lead and to be led. We were served salad, puffs, hot dogs and beef pie.  The pie is especially good – yummy.  I felt that I needed to have a short work-out after that and I went to the Gym.  I played ping-pong with Derrick from …(can’t remember)… . After 2 games I did some workout.

I managed to speak to Veron but couldn’t get my camera working.  Will try again tonight (21/8)





Of Airports and waiting…..

22 08 2007

Day2-19/8/2007

 Its passed midnight and I’m still at Changi – will only fly off at 7+am. There are many more shops, restaurants, all kinds of TV programs and many things to do at Changi. You can even swim and go to the gym.  But I just walked up and down around terminal 2 – looked for food and watched a few programs – I couldn’t find a place to sleep so I just waited until the UA check in counter opened at 4.30am.  I was amongst the first few to check in and soon I was on my way to Narita Airport, Tokyo.

The journey to Tokyo was a little tiring – I took short naps in between 2 movies.  It didn’t take us long and we arrived at Narita Airport about 1pm Japan time (2pm KL time).  I was a little lost initially – not knowing where the transit lounge was and soon found myself at a long row of shops.  It is nothing compared to Changi and I think KLIA may have more shops.

I was glad to see we had a similar plane to Hawaii.  This means we’ll have a personal TV. I was more tired, so after watching a movie I tried to sleep – with little success. We arrived in Honolulu around 7am local time.(1pm KL on the next day). Everything went smoothly and I did not encounter any problems with the immigration or with security screening.

Now I am at the food court waiting for my flight to Maui. I think I am going to buy a Hershey’s pie from Burger King – US1.59 – fattening – well I will work it out later.

(Time out for pie……. ) 

I’m back ….. Sad to say they only serve breakfast now and I have to wait until after 10am if I want the pie.

I decided to buy a Starbucks coffee – Mocca Raspberry with cream – US4.19; while I wait for my plane.

Anyway I finally met up with the other 2 Malaysians – Mani and Johnny but we were too tired to socialize/fellowship.

 I have been praying for an opportunity to share all along the journey and I finally got a chance to speak and share about Jesus to a lady on my flight to Maui PTL.

We had no problem finding the shuttle service to Haggai.  It took us about 30 minutes to reach Haggai from the airport.  On arrival we were greeted by a group of volunteers from US and Australia.  An old gentleman – Don, took my luggage and showed me to my room.   My room mate was resting/sleeping. 

After unpacking, I went for lunch. Since most participants had not arrived yet ,we were served a simple lunch  – sandwiches, some kind of porridge and cereal bar. I took porridge and a cup noodle.  After a short rest, I went to the gym and had a short workout.  The gym is equipped with various exercise machines but no free weights.

Dinner was good – food tasted good and there was quite a good variety too. The Resident Coordinator – Roel gave us a short briefing after dinner.  After that I finally got to get online to check my mail, download some videos and chatted with Veron.  Sleep was not easy as my body was still adjusting to the time difference but PTL I managed to get some sleep with the help of some kind of pill I got from Roel





Allan blogging from Hawaii

22 08 2007

Haggai Journal

Day1 – 18/8/2007

Today is like any normal Saturday.   I woke up and actually wanted to go to the Gym but Veron had planned for us to have a family time.  It was good to worship and meditate on God’s Word – Deut  and Isaiah – God is the only God in Heaven and on earth – we should come to Him and be saved – helped.

After our time together Angie and Andrea went to Sunway Pyramid for Ice skating and we took Andy to school with Andrew and Wei Yuan – who joined us for breakfast at Yat Kei.

We came home and Veron helped me to make sure that I left out nothing – all this while Veron was the one who looked into my packing and getting things ready for my trip to Haggai in Maui – Hawaii.

I went to children’s church and was rather disappointed with the small turn out – less than 20. Well after the singing by Joy and Man Wai, I did some games and encouraged the children. I told them that I will be away and will bring them presents and souvenirs from Hawaii.

After the children’s church we came home, pick up Choong  and headed straight to Airport.  It was very encouraging to have Choong come along to drive the family back.  I was happy and  surprised to see Reuben, John, David Yap and Pang YY at the airport to see me off.

After saying goodbye and all the hugs and kisses, I felt a little sad and lonely walking through the immigration and into the airport lounge.   I just walked around window shopping at KLIA transit.  The flight to Singapore was short and it was a surprise to see Changi – so much bigger and very much busier.